Lindsey Nelson Award

Lindsey Nelson Broadcasting Award


A true pioneer in sports broadcasting, Lindsey Nel­son’s radio and television ca­reer began in 1948 as Voice of the Vols. He expanded on a na­tional scale over the next five decades in which he covered thousands of sporting events.  Nelson was the voice of the Cotton Bowl for 26 years, added 17 seasons broadcast­ing New York Mets baseball, as well as calling Notre Dame football for 13 years.  Nelson was inducted into the Major League Baseball Hall of Fame in 1988.  In memory of his contri­butions to the broadcasting profession, this award is be­stowed on a broadcaster who has exemplified a passion for broadcasting during his or her career.

2017 – Woody Durham

2016 – Brent Musburger

2015 – Gene Deckerhoff

2014 – Tim Brando

2013 – Lee Corso

2012 – Bob Neal

2011- Jim Hawthorne

2010- George Mooney

2009-Mike Gottfried

2007- Larry Munson

2005- Jim Fyffe

2004- Jack Cristil

2003- Verne Lundquist

2002- Chris Schenkel

2001- Cawood Ledford

2000- Ron Franklin

1999- Keith Jackson

1998- John Ward